Crashed Bridge!

One Herculean Task have been lifted off from my list of school responsibilities. That being said, Happy New Year!

image

It has been one hell of a ride for our FYP journey. There were countless moments that I wish my team and I don’t have to go through. There were uncounted moments as well that I enjoyed together and I wish that such moments would prolong till the last day of our FYP. But smooth sea does not create a skillful sailor. 

We have officially ended our Final Year Project and I can’t express how light I feel. Gone are the gloomy days of painstakingly chionging for completing FYP reports, online logbook and creating the Poster and whatnot. The days where I can physically feel the workload of FYP and having to deal with the emotional turmoil set in me from the scoldings from our supervisors and TSOs are the thing of the past. THE PAST!! Dobby has no master. Dobby is a free elf! 

Hahaha!

I think my team did ‘okay’ when presenting in front of the first 2 assessors. The first lady assessor was great. We managed to answer her questions professionally. The second one, Faci Ashray (he is my IIP liason officer! What a small world!) was the best amongst all three because he read up our poster on his own and ask questions along the way which saves us a lot of trouble and time! Questions he asked were manageable and the team and I are able to answer everything. 🙂

image

image

image

And so we thought we could handle the last assessor since we ‘nailed’ the first two… so we ‘thought’ we could perform as good (or even better) as our previous ones…

For the last assessor,we called him ‘Yong Tau Fu’ because we can’t remember his name and it is pronounced somewhere along the nickname we have given him.

And unlike Yong Tau Fu, a pleasant dish to eat, questions asked were far from pleasant. Err… Damn! I think he found our weak spot and questioned us thoroughly on that spot. And I knew at once every single one of us is screwed because the day before our FYP evaluation, we have discussed in great detailed and have fortunately (& unfortunately -.-) found out that there are certain things in our project that we didn’t do and thus we cannot make a certain statement because there is no raw data to back up our statement. So we berpakat to avoid that area and don’t touch at all. I guess we did pretty well for the first two presentations considering they did not talk about our weak spot. I think it was an unfortunate moment when Yong Tau Fu managed to ‘sniff’ the ugly weak spot. During the intervention, I have this vision whereby our project ( a cool project and not mistakenly a leceh one) symbolize as bridge, connecting us to a new land that promise us better opportunities. We (my team mates and I) are on the end of the bridge ready to cross. However, this bridge is not a complete one. It looks sturdy but there are certain areas, if walked on the wrong part, the whole bridge will given in. That is our weak spot. So during the assessment, when Yong Tau Fu drilled questions on our weak spot, it is like as if he drilled on the weak spot of the bridge, a very very risky thing to do because if the other structure of the bridge cannot support this weak area, there goes our journey to the ‘promised land’. So yep! I have the vision that the stupid weak spot give way no matter how much we try to avoid  walking on the weak areas of the bridge. The bridge crumbles.

I felt disappointed with the outcome of our FYP evaluation. Really. All it takes is only one person to drill on the correct area to crash our bridge. Can’t blame him though because at the end of the day it is our fault for not making ‘weak spot’-proof bridge.

So yeap! But there’s nothing can be done because what’s done is done. Tried to cheer the team up but well…*sigh*

Saw Ye En’s team ( who also share the same FYP presentation room with us as well) on our way down.  I want to express how thankful I am to have them around as friends also! SERIOUSLY! When our request to use such-and-such machines during experimentation period got nowhere or fly into right ear come out from the left, if it wasn’t their team that help us out to manage the FTIR, UV Spec and NMR machines… I don’t know what would become of us.

image

image

image

So we with heavy feet, we went to TRCC to have our ‘celebratory’ meal. Yay. The rest of the team went to watch movie afterwards while I went home. Hope they catch a lovely and nice movie.

image

I had a deep sleep that I personally think such rest can last me for 2 days of non-stop work. That’s how exhausted and sad I was.

Well, the other day, Vinny said that she suddenly have a lot of free time on her hand. This was somewhat how our conversation goes.

Me: Do you have anything to do later or are you in a rush?

Vinny: Nope, nothing to do later and not rushing. I suddenly feel that I have so much time on my hand.

Me: Must be that FYP takes a lot of your time eh?

Vinny: Yeah hah! Now that FYP is over, I feel so empty now..

Me: Hahahah! There is no life goal to work towards since FYP is over. HAHAHA! FYP OVER, NO GOAL IN LIFE!

We had a hearty laugh afterwards.

STUDENT LIFE GOAL: UT3 = Grade A!

All in all I hope for the best now lah. No point grieving over something that you can’t change. SO yep! CRASHED BRIDGE! Hopefully the river below brings us to better promised land (Please not waterfall!!). InshaAllah!

image

Leave a Reply

